A New Year, New Projects, New Partnerships….

DSCN86162013….wow, here we are!  Our family enjoyed a wonderful Christmas holiday season, shared with family and friends.  A bit more snow at Christmas time would have been nice, but it sure made for easy travelling…

A new year, for me, is always an opportunity to re-assess, re-evaluate, and re-chart my goals and plans for the upcoming twelve months.  This year, I feel I have put alot more effort into this process.  2012 was a year of many amazing opportunities to get out there and talk about topics that are very important to us.  It was a year of meeting some very interesting people, and forging new friendships, as a result.  New interests were discovered, and new possibilities were entertained.

By taking some time to think about what is important to me, I have been able to let go of any ideas and perceptions that no longer serve me.  I hope to spend my time on things that inspire me, on projects that will help us continue on our path to sustainable farming – and also, personal growth.

Recently, there have been quite a few issues in the news that seem to have divided camps.  GMO’s and the Idle No More protests, and even flu vaccinations come to mind immediately.  Although I have definite opinions regarding all of these topics, I have also learned that there is a specific way I want to participate in these issues.  Respectful and meaningful dialogue is what works best for me.  I am not one to “bash” a topic, just because I don’t agree with it. Those of you who read my blog regularly have hopefully learned this about me.

Just this past week, I discovered that a Facebook group had kicked out a commenter from their site.  The group was one that was there to fight against the current proposed Farm Bill in the U.S.  The commenter was a dairy farmer from Wisconsin, who was challenging some of the comments made on the site.   Instead of entering into dialogue and exploring his comments further, they chose to dump him.  I know this, because he sent me the full transcript of this process.  Ironically, I know the commenter because he and I were sitting on opposite sides of the fence on the GMO debate.  Despite our differences, I choose to continue communicating with him, to learn why he thinks the way he does and to see how we can meet in the middle.

This year, I have set some intentions for myself.  One of them is to keep sharing our experiences here at the farm, and the insights we have gleaned as farmers in this tumultuous time for agriculture.  There are so many pressures:  GMO’s, big agribusiness corporations trying to control the direction of farming, and the future safety of seed sovereignty.  As a small family farm, we are learning that it is best to diversify, to steer clear of anything to do with genetically modified crops, and to be as kind and respectful to the Earth and it’s water and creatures as possible.  We will continue to explore ways to lower our ecological footprint and still gather harvests that will feed our family and our community.  Developing partnerships and networks is crucial.  Gregg Braden, in his latest book, Deep Truth, writes that we need to change our mindset from “competition” to “cooperation”.  By working together, we have a chance to initiate changes that will benefit our society and our world.

And so, it is with great pleasure, that I can tell you that, very shortly, I will be a guest blogger with someone else who is as passionate about food and nutrition and healthy living as I am.  Stacey Fokas is the author of Freshalicious, a cookbook that features local farms and producers (and us!)  Her blog can be found on her website, along with many useful shopping resources.  I am very excited about this venture, as it will allow me to reach an even wider audience.

Thank you to all of you, for your support in the past, and for following along with me on my farming adventures.  A special thank you to Kathy (you know who you are!) for motivating me to get busy and write another blog entry!

This is going to be an awesome year….an even larger garden than last year, new friendships, and many delicious meals and get-togethers!  I look forward to sharing them all with you!

Until next time,

Julie

2 responses to this post.

  1. whoaaa. Awesome writing julie.
    Thank you for the dialogue and education you provide
    Charles

    Reply

  2. I am looking forward to what we are going to accomplish this year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

